clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Villanova's Jay Wright, Butler's Chris Holtmann named semi-finalists for Naismith Coach of the Year

The 10 finalists will be revealed on March 19 with the winner being named on April 5.

Gregory Fisher-USA TODAY Sports

Villanova Wildcats head coach Jay Wright, and Butler Bulldogs head coach Chris Holtmann were named semi-finalists for the Naismith Coach of the Year award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Wednesday.

It is hardly a surprise for either man to be named a semifinalist. Wright, who won the award previously in 2006, has led the Wildcats to a 28-2 record so far this season and they currently sit at #4 in the nation.

Holtmann, who was officially named coach of the Bulldogs in January following Brandon Miller taking a leave of absence. Has led Butler to a 21-9 record and had them in the Top 25 for most of the season.

The list will be cut to 10 on March 19, with a winner coming on April 5. The full list of semifinalists is below.

Tony Bennett, Virginia

Mike Brey, Notre Dame

John Calipari, Kentucky

Scott Drew, Baylor

Mark Few, Gonzaga

Chris Holtmann, Butler

Ben Jacobson, Northern Iowa

Larry Krystkowiak, Utah

Archie Miller, Dayton

Steve Prohm, Murray State

Bo Ryan, Wisconsin

Bill Self, Kansas

Wayne Tinkle, Oregon State

Mark Turgeon, Maryland

Jay Wright, Villanova