clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 Big East Coast Bias Year End Awards

The Big East announces the winners later today, so here are our winners!

NCAA Basketball: DePaul at Villanova Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

As the 2018 Big East Tournament is set to begin on Wednesday night, Big East Coast Bias proudly presents its own edition of the year end awards.

In total, 18 staffers from BECB cast votes on the ballot. Here are the results.

BECB Player of the Year

Jalen Brunson, Villanova Wildcats

Vote Breakdown

Jalen Brunson, 15 votes (83.3%)

Kelan Martin, 2 votes (11.1%)

Shamorie Ponds, 1 vote (5.6%)

BECB Freshman of the Year

Omari Spellman, Villanova Wildcats

Vote Breakdown

Omari Spellman, 16 votes (88.9%)

JaMorko Pickett, 1 vote (5.6%)

Mitch Ballock, 1 vote (5.6%)

Big East Coach of the Year

Chris Mack, Xavier Musketeers

Vote Breakdown

Chris Mack, 12 Votes (66.7%)

Jay Wright, 4 votes (22.2%)

Greg McDermott, 1 vote (5.6%)

LaVall Jordan, 1 votes (5.6%)

All-BECB First Team

Trevon Bluiett, Xavier Musketeers

Mikal Bridges, Villanova Wildcats

Shamorie Ponds, St. John’s Red Storm

Marcus Foster, Creighton Bluejays

Kelan Martin, Butler Bulldogs

Others Receiving Votes: Khyri Thomas, Jessie Govan, Angel Delgado, Omari Spellman, Phil Booth

All-BECB Second Team

Markus Howard, Marquette Golden Eagles

Khyri Thomas, Creighton Bluejays

Angel Delgado, Seton Hall Pirates

Jessie Govan, Georgetown Hoyas

Desi Rodriguez, Seton Hall Pirates

Others Receiving Votes: Kamar Baldwin, Kelan Martin, Khyri Thomas, Marcus Foster, Marcus Derrickson, Sam Hauser, Andrew Rowsey, Kyron Cartwright, Rodney Bullock, Khadeen Carrington, Shamorie Ponds, Donte DiVincenzo, Trevon Bluiett, JP Macura, Kerem Kanter