clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 All-Met teams, awards announced

Sir'Dominic Pointer's Haggerty Award win highlights the slew of honors announced on Wednesday morning.

Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

The 2015 All-Met teams, as well as the Metropolitan Basketball Writers' Association awards were announced on Wednesday morning.

Highlighting the field is the recipient of the 2015 Haggerty Award, given to the top college basketball player in New York City. Sir'Dominic Pointer (St. John's Red Storm) earned the Haggerty Award after a sensational 2014-15 campaign in which the Johnnies made the NCAA Tournament. Pointer averaged 13.7 points and 7.7 rebounds and was named the Big East's Co-Defensive Player of the Year and Most Improved Player.

Pointer is the 22nd Red Storm player in program history be the recipient of the Haggerty Award.

Elsewhere, a slew of Big East names were found on the 2015 All-Met teams. Pointer joins fellow St. John's guard D'Angelo Harrison on the All-Met First Team, finding themselves amongst the pack with David Laury and A.J. English of the Iona Gaels, Jalen Cannon of St. Francis, and Jameel Warney of Stony Brook.

Sterling Gibbs of the Seton Hall Pirates was named to the 2015 All-Met Second Team after a terrific 2014-15 campaign. He joins Emmy Andujar of the Manhattan Jaspers, Juan'ya Green of Hofstra, Maodo Lo of Columbia, Damon Lynn of the NJIT Highlanders and Myles Mack of the Rutgers Scarlet Knights.

Finally, St. John's Red Storm guard Phil Greene IV was honored for his accomplishments last season by being named to the 2015 All-Met Third Team. Greene joins Chavaughn Lewis of Marist, Ashton Pankey of Manhattan, Brent Jones of St. Francis, Kadeem Jack of Rutgers, and Marcus Burton of Wagner.

Angel Delgado, the Big East Rookie of the Year, was the 2015 All-Met Co-Rookie of the Year, joining Fordham Rams superstar Eric Paschall. Despite that, Delgado was curiously left off of the first, second and third teams.

Recipients of the Peter A. Carlesimo Co-Coach of the Year Award were Glenn Braica of St. Francis and Jim Engles of NJIT.