clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USBWA 2014-15 All-District teams announced

Several Big East players have been named by the USBWA to their All-District teams.

Mark L. Baer-USA TODAY Sports

LaDontae Henton, Darrun Hilliard, Kellen Dunham and others have been selected by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association for the 2014-15 Men's All-District teams.

Since the 1956-57 season, the USBWA has selected All-District Teams, with nine districts encompassing the continental United States, and Alaska and Hawaii.

Henton, Providence's prodigious forward, was named District I (ME, VT, NH, RI, MA, CT) Player of the Year by the USBWA and joins fellow Friar Kris Dunn on its All-District Team.

Jay Wright, Villanova Wildcats head coach, was named as District II (NY, NJ, DE, DC, PA, WV) Coach of the Year, with Hilliard and Ryan Arcidiacono as well as St. John's Red Storm wing Sir'Dominic Pointer and guard D'Angelo Harrison making the cut, too. Georgetown Hoyas guard D'Vauntes Smith-Rivera is also featured.

Below are the full results of the voting for the nine All-District Teams, as well as each district's Player and Coach of the Year.

District I

(ME, VT, NH, RI, MA, CT)

Player of the Year

LaDontae Henton, Providence Friars

Coach of the Year

Danny Hurley, Rhode Island Rams

All-District Team

Ryan Boatright, Connecticut Huskies

Kris Dunn, Providence Friars

Scott Eatherton, Northeastern Huskies

Olivier Hanlan, Boston College Eagles

Cody Lalanne, UMass Minutemen

Hassan Martin, Rhode Island Rams

E.C. Matthews, Rhode Island Rams

Wesley Saunders, Harvard Crimson

Justin Sears, Yale Bulldogs

Dyami Starks, Bryant Bulldogs

District II

(NY, NJ, DE, DC, PA, WV)

Player of the Year

Rakeem Christmas, Syracuse Orange

Coach of the Year

Jay Wright, Villanova Wildcats

All-District Team

Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova Wildcats

DeAndre Bembry, Saint Joseph's Hawks

Rakeem Christmas, Syracuse Orange

D'Angelo Harrison, St. John's Red Storm

Darrun Hilliard, Villanova Wildcats

Daivd Laury, Iona Gaels

D.J. Newbill, Penn State Nittany Lions

Sir'Dominic Pointer, St. John's Red Storm

D'Vauntes Smith-Rivera, Georgetown Hoyas

Juwan Staten, West Virginia Mountaineers

District III

(VA, NC, SC, MD)

Player of the Year

Jahlil Okafor, Duke Blue Devils

Coach of the Year

Tony Bennett, Virginia Cavaliers

All-District Team

Justin Anderson, Virginia Cavaliers

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia Cavaliers

Quinn Cook, Duke Blue Devils

Tyus Jones, Duke Blue Devils

Trevor Lacey, North Carolina State Wolfpack

Jahlil Okafor, Duke Blue Devils

Marcus Paige, North Carolina Tar Heels

Melo Trimble, Maryland Terrapins

Dez Wells, Maryland Terrapins

Justise Winslow, Duke Blue Devils

District IV

(KY, TN, MS, AL, GA, FL)

Player of the Year

Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky Wildcats

Coach of the Year

John Calipari, Kentucky Wildcats

All-District Team

Devin Booker, Kentucky Wildcats

Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky Wildcats

Montrezl Harrell, Louisville Cardinals

Aaron Harrison, Kentucky Wildcats

Stefan Moody, Ole Miss Rebels

Cameron Payne, Murray State Racers

Josh Richardson, Tennessee Volunteers

Terry Rozier, Louisville Cardinals

Marcus Thornton, Georgia Bulldogs

Karl-Anthony Towns, Kentucky Wildcats

District V

(OH, IN, IL, MI, MN, WI)

Player of the Year

Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin Badgers

Coach of the Year

Bo Ryan, Wisconsin Badgers

All-District Team

Branden Dawson, Michigan State Spartans

Sam Dekker, Wisconsin Badgers

Kellen Dunham, Butler Bulldogs

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana Hoosiers

Jerian Grant, Notre Dame Fighting Irish

A.J. Hammons, Purdue Boilermakers

Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin Badgers

D'Angelo Russell, Ohio State Badgers

Keifer Sykes, Green Bay Phoenix

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State Spartans

District VI

(IA, MO, KS, OK, NE, ND, SD)

Player of the Year

Seth Tuttle, Northern Iowa Panthers

Coach of the Year

Ben Jacobson, Northern Iowa Panthers

All-District Team

Ron Baker, Wichita State Shockers

Perry Ellis, Kansas Jayhawks

Phil Forte, Oklahoma State Cowboys

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma Sooners

Monte Morris, Iowa State Cyclones

Le'Bryan Nash, Oklahoma State Cowboys

Georges Niang, Iowa State Cyclones

Seth Tuttle, Northern Iowa Panthers

Fred Van Vleet, Wichita State Shockers

Aaron White, Iowa Hawkeyes

District VII

(TX, AR, LA)

Player of the Year

Bobby Portis, Arkansas Razorbacks

Coach of the Year

Scott Drew, Baylor Bears

All-District Team

Kyan Anderson, TCU Horned Frogs

Rico Gathers, Baylor Bears

Jarell Martin, LSU Tigers

Jordan Mickey, LSU Tigers

Bobby Portis, Arkansas Razorbacks

Taurean Prince, Baylor Bears

Michael Qualls, Arkansas Razorbacks

Myles Turner, Texas Longhorns

Thomas Walkup, Stephen F. Austin Lumberjacks

Zeek Woodley, Northwestern State Demons

District VIII

(WY, UT, ID, NM, CO, NV, MT)

Player of the Year

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga Bulldogs

Coach of the Year

Mark Few, Gonzaga Bulldogs

All-District Team

Corey Hawkins, UC Davis Aggies

Stanley Johnson, Arizona Wildcats

T.J. McConnell, Arizona Wildcats

Gary Payton II, Oregon State Beavers

Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga Buldogs

Norman Powell, UCLA Bruins

Chasson Randle, Stanford Cardinal

Brad Waldow, St. Mary's Gaels

Tyron Wallace, California Golden Bears

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga Bulldogs

Joseph Young, Oregon Ducks