clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ray Graham, Lyle McCombs Named To Doak Walker Award Watch List

Getty Images

The Doak Walker Award, given annually to honor the nation's top running back, released its preseason watch list for the 2012 season today. Two Big East running back appear on this year's watch list, and neither is a surprise. Pittsburgh's Ray Graham, who led the nation in rushing before going down in the middle of the season with a knee injury, and Connecticut running back Lyle McCombs, one of the few (only?) bright spots on the Huskies' offense last year, were both named to the watch list.

Both McCombs and Graham have been near unanimous All-Big East selections by various media outlets and play in run heavy offense. The only concern with Graham is health and his recovery from a painful knee injury. You can view the full list after the jump.

Michael Alisa (Jr.), BYU

Montee Ball (Sr.), Wisconsin

Kenjon Barner (Sr.), Oregon

Le′Veon Bell (Jr.), Michigan State

Giovani Bernard (So.), North Carolina

Rex Burkhead (Sr.), Nebraska

Jesse Callier (Jr.), Washington

Benny Cunningham (Sr.), Middle Tennessee

Orleans Darkwa (Jr.), Tulane

Knile Davis (Jr.), Arkansas

Andre Ellington (Sr.), Clemson

Johnathan Franklin (Sr.), UCLA

Ray Graham (Sr.), Pittsburgh

Gee Gee Greene (Sr.), Navy

Jordan Hall (Sr.), Ohio State

D.J. Harper (Sr.), Boise State

John Hubert (Jr.), Kansas State

Michael James (Sr.), Miami

Waymon James (Jr.), TCU

Nathan Jeffery (So.), UTEP

Walter Kazee (Sr.), San Diego State

Eddie Lacy (Jr.), Alabama

Marcus Lattimore (Jr.), South Carolina

Hunter Lee (So.), Louisiana Tech

Zach Line (Sr.), SMU

Raymond Maples (Jr.), Army

Cameron Marshall (Sr.), Arizona State

Onterio McCalebb (Sr.), Auburn

Lyle McCombs (So.), Connecticut

Curtis McNeal (Sr.), USC

Christine Michael (Sr.), Texas A&M

Latavius Murray (Sr.), UCF

Branden Oliver (Jr.), Buffalo

Joseph Randle (Jr.), Oklahoma State

Silas Redd (Jr.), Penn State

Kedrick Rhodes (Jr.), Florida International

Robbie Rouse (Sr.), Fresno State

Jarred Salubi (Sr.), Baylor

Anthon Samuel (So.), Bowling Green

Orwin Smith (Sr.), Georgia Tech

Isi Sofele (Sr.), California

Shawn Southward (Sr.), Troy

Zac Stacy (Sr.), Vanderbilt

Eric Stephens (Sr.), Texas Tech

Stepfan Taylor (Sr.), Stanford

Fitzgerald Toussaint (Jr.), Michigan

Matthew Tucker (Sr.), TCU

James White (Jr.), Iowa State

James White (Jr.), Wisconsin

John White (Sr.), Utah

Kerwynn Williams (Sr.), Utah State

Cierre Wood (Sr.), Notre Dame