clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hakeem Smith, Jarred Holley, Logan Ryan Named To Thorpe Award Watch List

Getty Images

Watch List Week continues, this time with the release of the watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award. The Thorpe Award is given annually to the nation's best defensive back. There are three players from Big East schools on this year's watch list: Louisville safety Hakeem Smith, Pittsburgh safety Jerrod Holley, and Rutgers cornerback Logan Ryan. All three have been near unanimous selections for various All-Big East teams this season.

You can view the entire list after the jump.


CB Johnny Adams, Michigan State

S Jahleel Addae, Central Michigan

CB Ricardo Allen, Purdue

CB David Amerson, N.C. State

CB Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State

S C.J. Barnett, Ohio State

S John Boyett, Oregon

S Chad Boyd, Louisiana Tech

CB Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State

CB Travis Carrie, Ohio

S Jonathan Cyprien, FIU

S Matt Elam, Florida

CB D.J. Hayden, Houston

S Jarred Holley, Pittsburgh

S Kemal Ishmael, UCF

S Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma

S Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State

S Robert Lester, Alabama

S Isaiah Lewis, Michigan State

CB Nigel Malone, Kansas State

S Tyrann Mathieu, LSU

S Dexter McCoil, Tulsa

S T.J. McDonald, USC

CB Leon McFadden, San Diego State

CB Dayonne Nunley, Miami (Ohio)

CB Jordan Poyer, Oregon State

S Eric Reid, LSU

CB Xavier Rhodes, Florida State

CB Nickell Robey, USC

CB Logan Ryan, Rutgers

S Johnnie Simon, Western Michigan

S Hakeem Smith, Louisville

S Brynden Trawick, Troy

S Kenny Vaccaro, Texas

CB Deron Wilson, Southern Miss