clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ten Big East Players on the Wooden Award Preseason List

Getty Images

Beginning in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award has been given annually to the best men's collegiate basketball player who has maintained at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA (freshmen and transfers are not eligible for the watch list). For the 2011-2012 season, ten Big East men's basketball players made the preseason list for the award. The Big East's ten selections is the most of any conference. Since the creation of the award, only two Big East players have won the award. Chris Mullen and Walter Berry won it back to back in the 1984-85 and 1985-86 seasons for St. John's. BYU's Jimmer Fredette took home the Wooden Award last season.

Here's the list of the players from the Big East:

F-Tim Abromaitis, Notre Dame, Senior

G-Ashton Gibbs, Pittsburgh, Senior

G-Scoop Jardine, Syracuse, Senior

G-Darius Johnson-Odom, Marquette, Senior

F-Kevin Jones, West Virginia, Senior

F-Kris Joseph, Syracuse, Senior

G-Jeremy Lamb, Connecticut, Sophomore

C-Alex Oriakhi, Connecticut, Junior

G-Peyton Siva, Louisville, Junior

G-Maalik Wayns, Villanova, Junior