clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jay Wright named a 2015 Naismith Coach of the Year finalist

Coach Wright is one of four candidates for the National Coach of the Year Award.

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

If Coach Wright wins, he would become one of just three coaches to have won the award multiple times after winning the award in 2006.  The Naismith College Coach of the Year Award is "Presented annually to the college basketball coach who achieves great success on the court." After racking up 32 wins in a year that most pundits called for the 'Cats to take a step back, Jay Wright is certainly a legitimate candidate for the award.

His competition this year is one of the two coaches to have won more than once, John Calipari of Kentucky, along with Tony Bennett of Virginia and Bo Ryan of Wisconsin.  Calipari seeks his third award, which would tie him for the lead all-time with Mike Krzyzewski while Tony Bennett seeks his second award after winning in 2007 during his time at Washington State University.  The announcement will take place on Sunday, April 5, 2015.

Good luck Jay!