clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-Big East teams announced

Markus Howard, Myles Powell, Phil Booth, and Eric Paschall are unanimous first team selections.

NCAA Basketball: DePaul at Villanova Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

Markus Howard, Myles Powell, Phil Booth, and Eric Paschall were unanimously named to the All-Big East First Team on Sunday. The four made up the six-player first team, with Jessie Govan and Shamorie Ponds rounding out the selections.

Since Howard, Powell, Booth, and Paschall were unanimous, they are the four finalists for Big East Player of the Year.

None of these selections were very surprising, though it’s a bit surprising that Ponds wasn’t unanimous.

Kamar Baldwin, Max Strus, Sam Hauser, Alpha Diallo, and Naji Marshall make up the second team while Creighton’s Martin Krampelj and Ty-Shon Alexander received honorable mentions. No real issues here, either.

That brings us to the All-Freshman Team. Two big things stand out. First, three Georgetown players are on the team, which shows how well Patrick Ewing and staff have recruited this year. Secondly, while many thought Joey Hauser would be the frontrunner for Big East Freshman of the Year, it’s down to James Akinjo and Marcus Zegarowski, as they were the only two unanimous vote-getters.