clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Big East Players on Paul Hornung Award Watch List

Now in its second year, the Paul Hornung Award is handed out annually to college football's most versatile player by the Louisville Sports Commission and NFL Hall of Famer Paul Hornung. Last year, the award went to Stanford's Owen Marecic who played fullback and linebacker in 2010.

Here's the criteria to be selected for the award:

In addition to starting or playing significant downs on offense or defense, candidates will be measured by performance from among one or more of the following:

  • Playing multiple positions on offense and/or multiple positions on defense
  • Playing a significant role on special teams
  • Performing as a two-way player who starts either on offense or defense and is used on the other side of the ball in some impactful capacity
  • Making a significant impact during big games and elevating the team’s performance through leadership displayed by excelling in multiple roles

    The Big East had three players land on the award watch list: D.J. Woods (Cincinnati), Ray Graham (Pittsburgh) and Mohamed Sanu (Rutgers).